Veggie Supreme Pizza

Hey everybody, I feel like it has been far too long since I posted; so I thought I should give you a really good recipe for your patience 🙂

We had a pizza dough in the freezer last week and I was really craving some carbs. But since the new year, we have been eating really healthy. Lots of fruits and veggies. So I decided to jam pack this pizza with all the veggies I could find in our kitchen! And it’s really hearty even though there is no meat whatsoever.

At first, I was going to put fresh tomato slices, but then I saw the roasted red pepper jar in the fridge just calling my name. I was going to put both, but as you will see in the pictures below…it was already overflowing. Feel free to substitute your favorite toppings, I’m sure zucchini or eggplant would also be really good. If I were to make this again, I would add a little sugar to sweeten the tomato sauce a bit (just a personal preference) and maybe use less spinach because there was A LOT!

But give it a try, and let me know what you think in the comments below.

*Full recipe at the bottom of this post.

WP_000384

WP_000369

Start by preheating your oven to 400 degrees (unless your pizza dough has different directions, then follow that instead).

Put tomato sauce and olive oil in medium size sauce pan. Season with salt, black pepper, garlic and oregano. Place sauce over medium heat for about 20 minutes.

While sauce is heating, defrost spinach and artichokes according to package directions. (I found using a potato ricer really helps squeeze out/drain the excess water from the spinach without burning yourself.) Chop your artichokes and bell peppers into bite size pieces and clean your mushrooms.

Roll out your pizza dough on a floured surface. Once it is to your desired shape and size, place on a greased pizza pan and layer on the sauce. (I highly recommend a pizza crisper if you like a crispy crust—it works like a charm!)

WP_000377

Then add all the toppings…

WP_000381

…And finish off with the cheeses (I even topped it off a few more grinds of black pepper).

WP_000382

My pizza dough brand recommended baking the pizza for 18-25 minutes, but if yours calls for a different amount of time then go with that. Mine looked perfect at 18 minutes. Once it is ready, let it sit for about five minutes before digging in.

WP_000383

_________________________________________________________________________

Veggie Supreme Pizza

Serves 3

Ingredients:

  • 14 ounces of crushed tomatoes
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt
  • Black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 10 ounces of frozen chopped spinach
  • 9 ounces of frozen artichoke hearts
  • 1 or 2 roasted red bell peppers
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, chopped (I prefer baby bella)
  • Flour (for dusting rolling pin)
  • 4-6 ounces shredded mozzarella
  • Grated parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (unless your pizza dough has different directions, then follow that instead).
  2. Put tomato sauce and olive oil in medium size sauce pan. Season with salt, black pepper, garlic and oregano. Place sauce over medium heat for about 20 minutes.
  3. While sauce is heating, defrost spinach and artichokes according to package directions. (I found using a potato ricer really helps squeeze out/drain the excess water from the spinach without burning yourself.) Chop your artichokes and bell peppers into bite size pieces and clean your mushrooms.
  4. Roll out your pizza dough on a floured surface. Once it is to your desired shape and size, place on a greased pizza pan and layer on the sauce. (I highly recommend a pizza crisper if you like a crispy crust—it works like a charm!)
  5. Then add all the toppings.
  6. And finish off with the cheeses and a few more grinds of black pepper.
  7. My pizza dough brand recommended baking the pizza for 18-25 minutes, but if yours calls for a different amount of time then go with that. Mine looked perfect at 18 minutes. Once it is ready, let it sit for about five minutes before digging in.
Leave a Reply

